Where I Come From

“Rugrats”, Tamagotchi, Beanie Babies, NSYNC versus Backstreet Boys: All of these are trends that helped define the supposed most recent “greatest decade”: the ’90s. Now, I can’t deny the significance of this decade, but my heart truly belongs to the 2000’s. After reading this blog about the “noughties,” as she nicknames the time period, I realized just how important these early years of the 21st century are to me.

Of course I love the nineties: Saturday morning cartoons were a part of my weekend ritual, Danny Tanner and his family never failed to teach me a lesson after every episode of “Full House” and just like every other girl, I made my most delicious desserts with an Easy Bake Oven.

But I was 7 years old when the new millennium hit. I grew up in the 2000’s. These are the times I began to tune in to pop culture and pay attention to the trends around me. I participated in many of the nineties trends because they were what was surrounding me: I participated in the 2000’s trends by choice. I went through my awkward tom boy phases in the 2000’s (which, yes, included the pants that zip off at the knee to make shorts) and I began to like boys in the 2000’s (including Jesse McCartney and Frankie Muniz, just to name a few). Lizzie McGuire went through the same adolescent struggles I did and Avril Lavigne’s album “Let Go” was the soundtrack of my life.

Looking back on my childhood, I realize the importance of taking pride in the time I grew up. The pop culture I was surrounded with and the hobbies I involved myself in helped to shape who I became today and although I am a true 90’s kid by definition, I proudly define myself as a true member of the 2000’s.

2 thoughts on “Where I Come From

  1. Louise March 20, 2015 / 7:28 am

    Hey, thanks for linking to my blog post! Really enjoyed reading your stance on growing up in the 2000’s and the rest of your blog looks right up my street too!

    Like

  2. Mark Nimkoff March 30, 2015 / 6:31 pm

    Glad to see this interaction arising out of your remote comment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

